Aboriginal Head Start

Overview

The United Native Friendship Centre is pleased to offer the Zaagi-idiwin Aboriginal Headstart Program. The AHS program will run throughout the school year.

The Zaagi-idiwin Aboriginal Headstart Program is a licensed school readiness program for children ages 2.5 – 5 who are entering school for the first time in the fall. Our staff is made up of qualified teachers, early childhood educators, and social services workers.

We are now accepting applications for the 2019-20 school year.  Dealine for applications is June 28, 2019.

Child and Family Registration Application Form (PDF)

Goal

Our goal is to meet the spiritual, emotional, intellectual and physical needs of the children. We provide programming in six core areas: education and school readiness, Aboriginal culture and language, health promotion and nutrition, parental involvement and social support.

View this short video to see what the Aboriginal Headstart Program is about. 



Contact

If you are interested in learning more about what the program has to offer, please call 807-274-7244

 

Charity McMahon, Early Learning Programs Lead
cmcmahon@unfc.org 

Karly Rousseau, Early Learning Programs Assistant
krousseau@unfc.org

Dana Ward, Head Teacher
dward@unfc.org

Courtney Plourde, Teacher's Assistant
cplourde@unfc.org

Classroom Assistants
ahsclassroom@unfc.org

Brenda Witherspoon-Bedard, Resource Worker
bwitherspoon@unfc.org

Angela Fiset, Driver/Maintenance
afiset@unfc.org

Mindy Taschuk, Cook
mtaschuk@unfc.org